So I am debating or not to do the Goofy Challenge. It is a half marathon followed by a full marathon the next day. A total of 39.3 miles. An insane task even for the most advanced amateur runner. For me it is nearly impossible.

It is impossible for a couple of reasons.
1. I haven’t ran more then 15 miles at once ever.
2. It’s $350 just for the race!
3. Hotel, airfare, food, and fun will be over $1000.
4. Do I even want to run that much!?

It has been on my mind non stop. I keep finding blogs that describe their adventure and have read it is amazing and fun but super hard on the body. Well 39 anything would be hard on the body!
39 pieces of pizza, 39 people during pile up and your on the bottom, 39 shots of tequila, 39 bullet holes, 39 mosquito bites (which I had when Laura got lost on the beach at night!)
So you get the point! It’s a lot to prepare for. Money and miles. I’ll be teaching full time leading up to it and will have to work weekends as well!
I asked for a sign from above and while watching the dogs watch my mom performing Just Dance 3

image

I got bored and rooted through a shared room in the basement. I was going through some old pictures of Laura’s former lovers and came across this…

image

If that’s not a sign I don’t know what is! My sweet mommom! The picture should not have been mixed with the other. Unless of course my sister dated Mickey Mouse. (Shes pretty loose wild, so it is possible)
My mommom died 2.5 months ago to the day. Not a day has gone by that I don’t look at pictures or miss her beyond imaginable. She was my weekend fun time for the past 4 years and I feel so empty and bored on Saturday’s. Something is missing and that something is her company. The laughs, the tears, and the secrets that kept spilling out will forever be cherished and missed. Here is a recent outing to visit her at the cemetery. No plaque yet but we brought butter cake and her favorite jelly donuts! Ha

image

image

So enough sadness. Mommom would totally want me and shan to do this. Although she would say don’t spend money you dont have. Well I totally obliged to anything she would say. So looks like I’m doing the goofy challenge! Ha ha!
It’s not a definite but I’d like to commemorate mommom somehow in this race if I do decide to it!
I love you Mommom! You’re home…

image

