This morning marked my first Family Sunday Fun Run. This includes my brother, his wife, my niece, shannon, and me. We tried to get my parents to do it, they’re no fun. Col is in GA with the boys for their birthday. We originally said 9:30 but eventually were destined to go at 10 instead. I was thankful until I went outside.

We stretched and I turned on my Ironman. Now my Ironman has not worked since i’ve been back in NJ. Total let down so far. I thought it just needed a few more minutes to find a signal. Um not. We started off, I brought my phone and used my Sports Tracker AP (it really is great). Piper had the best seat in the house, her jogging stroller. Lucky her. It was freaking hot!

Shan went on her own, I stayed behind my brother n Pip and maintained a 11 minute mile. Until after the first mile. I slowly went down to a 12 minute pace. Ran the full two miles then stopped to drink some water….and didn’t start running again for a few minutes, just walked it out. Turned around at 2.5 …(should have gone to 3) ran another mile, walked and ran the rest home. Walked just under .75 and the rest ran.

It was soo hot. I am glad I brought my water bottle. The run wasn’t great at all. It made me super angry that I could run a solid 6 miles in the hot heat in FL but came here and couldn’t run a solid 6 let alone 5. Pathetic.

It makes me angry how out of shape I let myself get. I’ll do great for months and then just get out of it for a month or two and ruin any progress both weight loss and cardio wise. There is no way I will reach my goal of 2:15 for the philly half marathon in september. I’d be happy if I get 2:30! I’m going to work really  hard to get it back even though it will be hard when school starts and i’ll be teaching, I need to just push through. Esp. if I wanna do my first full in January…. we’ll see. I need to find money in my jean pockets…

Shannon treated herself to a coffee and me to a Peach Iced Tea with Splenda. Delish! We also stopped at a fruit stand and got a yellow watermelon and a regular. Shan got a baby yellow one too and I took a bite. It was great.

Image

Image

Image

Then it was lots of pool time. It was warmer then the Gulf. Yep amazing. Came inside to make a quick lunch. Chicken, LC, Spinach, and some 5 Mexi Cheese, threw it on the George and called it lunch. Outside for more sun and ordered dinner. Got a ceasar salad with avocado and Shan and I will split a roast pork.

Image

Sleep early so we can get up and run way before the heat wakes up!

