While in NYC, I wanted to see the 9/11 memorial. I can remember the day so vividly when terrorist changed history forever. I was in 7th grade in math class. I had no idea what the World Trade Centers were. I remember hearing one teacher kick a desk and in my final class of the day, history, we watched the news the entire time. I remember coming home and asking what this all meant, what happened. I didn’t get an answer that I could understand so young. So I watched the news, said my prayers and watched as my cousin went up to take body parts out of the ruble. Now that it has been 10 years, I still am at a lost and feel for those families who are still reeling from the devastation.

This past year, I read a magazine article. “The Children of 9/11”. It was so surreal. These children never knowing their fathers. I couldn’t imagine life without my parents and give credit to those mothers, fathers, sons, daughters, uncles, aunts, grandparents, and friends who pulled it together enough to raise incomplete families.

So…

We took one of many cabs after Live with Kelly! to the memorial. We found our way past busy streets to where we were supposed to go. After going through security which was identical to an airport security, we were off to another part. Before I move on, I attempted to take a picture of the security and was completely oblivious to signs that said no pictures blah blah. As soon as I took it an NYPD came up to me and asked if he could see the picture I just took. I happily obliged and was still oblivious. He asked if I could delete it and there is a big sign no pictures allowed. Ha oh well. Just imagine a very busy airport with lots of men in navy blue.

We had to get our tickets checked 3 times. Ya I was like this is redic but I totally get why. After making our way around and around we finally entered. There were thousands of people but it wasn’t like pile up. It was spread out and huge. We made our way to the South Tower… now called South Pool. It was spectacular. It took my breath away. The architecture and just how beautiful the waterfall was. Names all around etched into marble. When I saw entire rescue squads and ladders, it just reminded me how many people lost their lives. Not just the people on the plane and majority of the people in the buildings but the people in surrounding buildings and streets, and all of the hero’s that helped rescue those in need. We also saw the North Tower or North Pool. Same as the South with names all around. Doesn’t seem like all of the 3500 people’s names could fit but I guess they did.

One thing really cool after walking around the “park”, they have computer’s where you can type in someones name and find exactly where they are on the pools. You can also just page through all of the names. One that I saw was a little girl 2 years old, the youngest to die in Flight 175. Also on that flight, her mother, father, and sister. So sad. It was just a great piece of technology anyone could use to find their loved ones.

If you look up behind the towers, you see the great, brave construction men and women who are building the new towers. They are magnificant and I think even taller. They are yet to be finished but they are beautiful and will be just as great. I will return again just to see the towers and pay my respects once again to those who lost their lives in the viscous attack on America.

We will always remember those who lost their lives and how precious life really is. Enjoy the pictures below.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

