A trip to NYC, eh I could do with out. A trip to NYC to see Live with Kelly! count me in!! We originally put in for tickets in May. Got them for July 4th. We were in FL. Sent them back to get new ones, got them for August 1st. We took NJ Transit out of Hamilton NJ. I was awake at 2:45 am. Left the house at 3:30. Gave us plenty of time to get our tickets and hang out a few. We boarded the first second train at 5:12 and arrived at 6:12.

Image

Took a taxi to the ABCTV building and waited in line. We were second in line. They have this truck that pulls up and you can get complimentary coffee, tea, or hot chocolate, and Cinnamon rolls, honey date bars, among others. Total plus! After standing in the pouring rain for an hour and half we were finally let it. You go through a make shift plug in the wall metal detector (we saw them assemble it). You then give your tickets to the front desk and they give you a green card.

Image

Image

Image

Image(honeydate)

Then you stand in line until 8:45. In that time, you are free to use the 2 stall bathroom. Didn’t even have paper towels. Ya I was expecting more out of this building. Guess we were just in the crummy part. Ha. A woman also comes around and asks who wants to be the surf dancer in a bikini. Free bikini from Saks. I clearly am in no shape to dance on National T.V. let alone in the dark. We tried to get Shannon to do it, she was almost talked into it then couldn’t muster the courage. Next time … Then we went in!

Image

Image

The inside was absolutely amazing. As you can see. This designer in a genius. Truly magical.

Image

We were prepped by Gelman or as my sister Colleen likes to say Gelson. He was um OK. Not the friendliest. Didn’t smile much. Acted like he was the top of the top. I guess he is. He reprimanded an employee for reading a paper a guest gave  to Kelly in front of everyone. It was super awkward and very uncomfortable. I get it, he’s got a lot going on but I was just totally put off by him. Anyway… in the pic the lady in the doorway is the one he yelled at. He was leaning up against a table.

Image

The show started and Nick Lachey was the guest co-host. He was so pretty and just better looking in person. She was the tiniest little thing. She was so beautiful and beyond down to earth. I like her even more for cracking on Gelson Gelman. The guest of the day were: Carson Kressley, some 17 Day Diet book man, Joss Stone sang.

Image

Image

Image

Image

It was great. Every commercial Kelly would come and talk to the audience. We were seated directly behind the camera. It was great. A few times we couldn’t see the guest but we just had to shift our bodies. I was literally 25 ft from her. In the shots below she was receiving the paper the employee got in trouble for reading and I could smell her breath she was that close. She had breath mints so she was minty fresh. We also were able to talk to her. I blurted out South Jersey in the house and she was all about us. My sister talked to her about having the same professor she had as a teacher in school. This entire conversation lasted eh 20 seconds. It was great and I loved everything about her.

Image

ImageImage

So after Joss Stone performed Gelman told us to stay seated. They took down the set and he said he had a surprise for us. …another taping! I screamed with joy! How amazinggggg!!!! About a half hour later as we sat watching the Bachelor (Kelly co-host edition). The show started again. This show was August 20th. They spoke of no current events and it was still great. Except the part where a woman’s cell phone rang. So awkward. She got such dirty looks  from the crew. I felt embarrassed for her. Oh well stuff happens! The guest of this show was so great. Tim Gunn my favorite!, Shia Labeouf (very hairy), and I thought Jordan Sparks but we didn’t see her. The two were great!

Image

Image

After that show which lasted the same as the earlier one. 1 hour each. We were told to exit. It was a garage door behind the set that led out to the street. That was all. It was a great experience. Kelly was amazing and just so great in person. I was not let down at all. The double show was a plus but I still would have been happy with 1. I would definitely go again. Next time I’m trying to go see the Chew!

We then took 1 of many Taxi’s to the World Trade Center Memorial. Look ahead for that post!

(sorry for any name misspellings…too tired to Google)

